

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

August 16, 2024

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Syracuse Attorney Stefano Cambareri Appointed to Judicial Conduct Commission

Stefano (Steve) Cambareri, Senior Partner in the law firm of Cambareri & Brenneck, PLLC, in Syracuse, has been appointed to the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct by Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay.

Mr. Cambareri is a graduate of the State University of New York at Albany with a B.S. (cum laude) in Business Administration, and the Syracuse University College of Law (magna cum laude), where he was a member of the Justinian Honorary Law Society and an Associate Editor of the Syracuse Law Review. He previously served as an associate at Bond, Schoeneck & King and later worked as an Assistant District Attorney in Onondaga County.

Mr. Cambareri is a past member of the Lexis/Nexis New York Criminal Practice Editorial Board, and has lectured on various law-related topics for the Onondaga County Bar Association Continuing Legal Education Program, the Syracuse Police Department, the Onondaga County Sheriff's Office, the Onondaga County Center for Forensic Sciences, local school districts and community groups.

Mr. Cambareri fills a vacancy on the Commission created by the resignation of Graham Seiter, Esq., upon his appointment as part-time Fulton City Court Judge.

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

August 16, 2024 Page 2

Additional information on Mr. Cambareri and the other members of the Commission can be found on the Commission's website: <u>www.cjc.ny.gov</u>.

Background on the Commission

The Commission was established in 1978 by the New York State Constitution to review complaints of misconduct and disability against judges and justices of the State Unified Court System and, where appropriate, to discipline publicly those judges found to have engaged in misconduct.

The Commission is composed of 11 members, all of whom serve without pay. The Governor appoints four members (two of whom must be non-lawyers/non-judges), the Chief Judge of the State of New York appoints three members (all of whom must be judges) and the four leaders of the State Legislature appoint one each.

The Commission has a full-time staff operating from offices in New York City, Albany and Rochester.

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2028
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Chief Judge Rowan Wilson	March 31, 2028
Stefano Cambareri, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2025
Brian C. Doyle, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt	March 31, 2028
Hon. John A. Falk	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2025
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore, Ph.D.	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026
Hon. Anil C. Singh	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2026
Akosua Garcia Yeboah	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2025

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT