

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

October 28, 2024

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Town Justice in Otsego County Resigns While Under Investigation

Gary L. Carson, a Justice of the Pittsfield Town Court, Otsego County, resigned while under investigation by the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct.

In August 2024, the Commission apprised Judge Carson that it was investigating complaints alleging that he:

- Was belligerent at public town meetings and in interactions with other town officials;
- Failed to report and remit court funds in a timely manner as required by law;
- Failed to transfer his son's traffic tickets to another court;
- Engaged in unauthorized political activity by circulating nominating petitions for a town council candidate;
- Engaged in unauthorized *ex parte* communications in pending cases;
- Mishandled violations of local dog-control ordinances; and
- Appeared to be suffering from health issues that prevented the proper performance of his judicial duties.

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

October 28, 2024 Page 2

Judge Carson resigned from office on August 14, 2024, and agreed never to seek or accept judicial office at any time in the future. The Commission accepted a stipulation to that effect signed by the judge and the Commission's Administrator.¹

Judge Carson waived the statutory provision of confidentiality applicable to Commission proceedings, to the limited extent that the stipulation and Commission's order accepting it would be public.

Judge Carson, who is not an attorney, had been a Justice of Pittsfield Town Court since 2023. His current term would have expired on December 31, 2027.

The stipulation and the Commission's order can be found on the Commission's website: <u>www.cjc.ny.gov</u>.

Statement by Commission Administrator

Commission Administrator Robert H. Tembeckjian made the following statement.

"Given the wide range of misconduct alleged against Judge Carson, and now the suggestion that poor health is impeding the performance of his judicial duties, it is in the best interests of the public and the court system that he step down."

Statistics Relating to Prior Commission Decisions

The Commission has accepted 141 such permanent resignation stipulations since the procedure was instituted in 2003.

Since 1978, the Commission has also issued 285 determinations of admonition against judges in New York State, 352 determinations of censure and 185 determinations of removal.

The Court of Appeals has reviewed 102 Commission determinations. The Court accepted the Commission's sanctions in 86 cases (77 of which were removals, six were censures and three were admonitions). Of the remaining 16 cases, two sanctions were increased from censure to removal, and 13 were reduced: nine removal determinations were modified to censure, one removal was modified to admonition, two censures were modified to admonition, and one censure was rejected and the charges dismissed. The Court remitted one matter to the Commission for further proceedings. One request for review is currently pending.

¹ The Stipulation was signed on September 27, 2024. The Commission issued an order accepting it on October 24, 2024.

October 28, 2024 Page 3

Counsel

In the proceedings before the Commission, Judge Carson represented himself.

The Commission was represented by Deputy Administrator Cathleen S. Cenci, Staff Attorney Shruti Joshi and Senior Investigator Ryan Fitzpatrick.

Background Information on Judge Carson

First took office:	2023
Current term expires:	December 31, 2027

Members of the Commission

The Commission members serve four-year terms. A list of members is noted below.

The Public File

The stipulation and order are attached.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2028
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Chief Judge Rowan Wilson	March 31, 2028
Stefano Cambareri, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2025
Brian C. Doyle, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt	March 31, 2028
Hon. John A. Falk	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2025
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore, Ph.D.	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026
Hon. Anil C. Singh	Chief Judge Rowan Wilson	March 31, 2026
Akosua Garcia Yeboah	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2025