

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

September 23, 2024

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Town Justice in Onondaga County Resigns While Under Investigation

John D. Kinsella, a Justice of the Geddes Town Court, Onondaga County, resigned while under investigation by the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct.

In August 2024, the Commission apprised Judge Kinsella that it was investigating a complaint that poor health was preventing the proper performance of his judicial duties.

Judge Kinsella resigned from office by letter dated August 26, 2024, and agreed never to seek or accept judicial office at any time in the future. The Commission accepted a stipulation to that effect signed by the judge and the Commission's Administrator.¹

Judge Kinsella waived the statutory provision of confidentiality applicable to Commission proceedings, to the limited extent that the stipulation and Commission's order accepting it would be public.

Judge Kinsella, who is an attorney, had been a Justice of Geddes Town Court since 2001. His current term would have expired on December 31, 2025.

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

¹ The Stipulation was signed on September 16, 2024. The Commission issued an order accepting it on September 19, 2024. The judge's resignation is effective September 30, 2024.

The stipulation and the Commission's order can be found on the Commission's website: <u>www.cjc.ny.gov</u>.

Statement by Commission Administrator

Commission Administrator Robert H. Tembeckjian made the following statement.

"When deteriorating health impedes the proper performance of a judge's duties for a significant period of time, the Commission must balance compassion for the individual with its responsibility to protect the public and the administration of justice. We wish Judge Kinsella well as he closes the judicial chapter of his professional career."

Statistics Relating to Prior Commission Decisions

The Commission has accepted 138 such permanent resignation stipulations since the procedure was instituted in 2003.

Since 1978, the Commission has also issued 284 determinations of admonition against judges in New York State, 352 determinations of censure and 185 determinations of removal.

The Court of Appeals has reviewed 102 Commission determinations. The Court accepted the Commission's sanctions in 86 cases (77 of which were removals, six were censures and three were admonitions). Of the remaining 16 cases, two sanctions were increased from censure to removal, and 13 were reduced: nine removal determinations were modified to censure, one removal was modified to admonition, two censures were modified to admonition, and one censure was rejected and the charges dismissed. The Court remitted one matter to the Commission for further proceedings. One request for review is currently pending.

Counsel

In the proceedings before the Commission, Judge Kinsella represented himself.

The Commission was represented by Deputy Administrator John J. Postel, Senior Attorney David M. Duguay, and Senior Investigator Vanessa Mangan.

Background Information on Judge Kinsella

First took office:	2001
Current term expires:	December 31, 2025

September 23, 2024 Page 3

Members of the Commission

The Commission members serve four-year terms. A list of members is noted below.

The Public File

The stipulation and order are attached.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2028
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Chief Judge Rowan Wilson	March 31, 2028
Stefano Cambareri, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2025
Brian C. Doyle, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt	March 31, 2028
Hon. John A. Falk	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2025
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore, Ph.D.	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026
Hon. Anil C. Singh	Chief Judge Rowan Wilson	March 31, 2026
Akosua Garcia Yeboah	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2025