

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

June 17, 2025

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Town Justice in Cayuga County Resigns After Pleading Guilty to DWI

Lucas H. Ferrin, a Justice of the Conquest Town Court, Cayuga County, has resigned while under investigation by the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct.

In October 2024, Judge Ferrin was charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) and several other related offenses, including obstructing governmental administration. In April 2025, the Commission apprised the judge that it was investigating a complaint related to the charges. Thereafter, Judge Ferrin resigned from office as a condition of his plea to the DWI charge, a misdemeanor, which satisfied all related charges against him.

Additionally, the judge agreed never to seek or accept judicial office at any time in the future. The Commission accepted a stipulation to that effect signed by the judge, his attorney, and the Commission's Administrator.¹

Judge Ferrin waived the statutory provision of confidentiality applicable to Commission proceedings, to the limited extent that the stipulation and Commission's order accepting it would be public.

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

¹ The Stipulation was signed on May 23, 2025. The Commission issued an order accepting it on June 12, 2025.

Judge Ferrin, who is not an attorney, had been a Justice of Conquest Town Court since 2024. His current term would have expired on December 31, 2027.

The stipulation and the Commission's order can be found on the Commission's website: <u>www.cjc.ny.gov</u>.

Statistics Relating to Prior Commission Decisions

The Commission has accepted 152 such permanent resignation stipulations since the procedure was instituted in 2003.

Since 1978, the Commission has also issued 289 determinations of admonition against judges in New York State, 356 determinations of censure and 185 determinations of removal.

The Court of Appeals has reviewed 102 Commission determinations. The results are available on the Commission's website at "<u>Appealed Decisions</u>."

Statement by Commission Administrator

"Driving While Intoxicated and related offenses endanger not just the inebriated driver but passengers, others on the road, pedestrians, and police officers in pursuit. Judges, who are required by ethics rules to respect and comply with the law, must be especially mindful of setting the right example in this regard, since their conduct on or off the bench is so often scrutinized and publicized."

Counsel

Judge Ferrin was represented by Dennis Paul Sedor, Esq., 110 Genesee Street, Suite 210, Auburn, New York 13021 (315) 255-1195.

The Commission was represented by Deputy Administrator John J. Postel, Senior Attorney David M. Duguay and Senior Investigator Vanessa Mangan.

Background Information on Judge Ferrin

First took office:	January 1, 2024
Current term expires:	December 31, 2027

Members of the Commission

The Commission members serve four-year terms. A list of members is noted below.

The Public File

The stipulation and order are attached.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2028
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2028
Stefano Cambareri, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2029
Brian C. Doyle, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt	March 31, 2028
Hon. John A. Falk	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2029
Robin Chappelle Golston	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2029
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore, Ph.D.	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Hon. Peter H. Moulton	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2026
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026