

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

June 16, 2025

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Nassau County District Court Judge Agrees to Resign After Being Charged With Making Offensive Comments

William Alan Hohauser, a Judge of the District Court, Nassau County – who was charged with misconduct by the Commission on Judicial Conduct for making offensive or otherwise inappropriate comments on numerous occasions to prosecutors and court staff – has agreed to resign from office at the end of the year and never return.¹ The resignation stipulation was conditioned on his completing courses on civility and professionalism offered by the Office of Court Administration, and a recommendation that he no longer be assigned to criminal cases. (He has completed the courses specified in the stipulation.)

In March 2025, Judge Hohauser was served with a Formal Written Complaint, alleging that between February 2023 and May 2024, he made numerous inappropriate comments to various Nassau County Assistant District Attorneys and a court employee, despite having been cautioned by the Commission in May 2022 for making inappropriate remarks to attorneys.

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

¹ A resignation stipulation was executed on May 2, 2025. The Commission issued an order accepting it on June 12, 2025. The judge's resignation is effective December 31, 2025.

June 16, 2025 Page 2

Judge Hohauser has served as a Nassau County District Court Judge since 2016. His current term would have expired on December 31, 2027.

The stipulation can be found on the Commission's website: <u>www.cjc.ny.gov</u>.

Statement by Commission Administrator

Commission Administrator Robert H. Tembeckjian made the following statement.

"Judges are obliged to be patient, dignified and courteous toward all with whom they deal in their official capacity. They undermine morale with rudeness toward staff, and public confidence in their impartiality with repeated discourtesy toward litigants, especially when aiming it at one party – in this case, prosecutors. That Judge Hohauser did so despite a prior warning is disappointing and warrants his departure from the bench."

Statistics Relating to Prior Commission Decisions

The Commission has accepted 151 such stipulations since the procedure was instituted in 2003.

Since 1978, the Commission has issued 289 determinations of admonition against judges in New York State, 356 determinations of censure and 185 determinations of removal.

The Court of Appeals has reviewed 102 Commission determinations. The results are available on the Commission's website at "<u>Appealed Decisions</u>."

<u>Counsel</u>

Judge Hohauser was represented by Seth H. Agata, of The Law Firm of César de Castro, P.C., 111 Fulton Street – 602, New York, New York, (631) 460-3951.

The Commission was represented by Deputy Administrator Mark Levine, Staff Attorney Stella Gilliland and Investigator Annie Hagerty.

Background Information on Judge Hohauser

First took office:	2016
Current term expires:	December 31, 2027
Year Admitted to NYS Bar:	1986

June 16, 2025 Page 3

Members of the Commission

The Commission members serve four-year terms. A list of members is appended.

The Public File

The stipulation and order are attached.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2028
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2028
Stefano Cambareri, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2029
Brian C. Doyle, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt	March 31, 2028
Hon. John A. Falk	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2029
Robin Chappelle Golston	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2029
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore, Ph.D.	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Hon. Peter H. Moulton	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2026
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026