

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

April 14, 2025

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Westchester County Court Judge Should Be Admonished for Misconduct in Two Traffic Matters

The New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct has determined that Westchester County Court Judge Melissa A. Loehr should be admonished for misconduct in two traffic cases.

Judge Loehr agreed to the admonition.

In March 2018, while serving as a Peekskill City Court judge, Judge Loehr dismissed a traffic ticket issued to her co-judge's daughter, without disclosing the relationship or that the defendant was a friend of her own daughter. Judge Loehr concedes that she should not have presided over the matter.

In January 2017, after her daughter received a traffic ticket in the Town of Cortlandt, Judge Loehr called the court on her daughter's behalf and gratuitously told the deputy court clerk, "I don't know if you know, I'm the judge in Peekskill." Judge Loehr concedes it was improper to invoke her judicial status.

In its determination, the Commission stated that in the 2018 matter, Judge Loehr "created the appearance of special consideration based on her personal

relationships and she undermined public confidence in the integrity and impartiality of the judiciary." The Commission also found that in the 2017 matter, the judge's "gratuitous reference to her judicial office created at least the appearance that she was inappropriately seeking special treatment for her daughter."

Judge Loehr has been a Judge of the Westchester County Court since 2020. She previously served as a Judge of the Peekskill City Court from 2017 to 2019. Her current term expires on December 31, 2029.

Statement by Commission Administrator

Commission Administrator Robert H. Tembeckjian made the following statement.

"Judges must step aside from matters in which their impartiality might reasonably be questioned. They must also avoid judicial name-dropping for personal purposes, such as when a relative gets a traffic ticket. To her credit, Judge Loehr accepted responsibility and committed herself to careful adherence to the applicable rules."

The Commission Proceedings

Judge Loehr was served with a Formal Written Complaint dated August 8, 2024, containing two charges, and filed an Answer dated September 23, 2024.

On February 6, 2025, the Administrator of the Commission, Judge Loehr and her attorney entered into an Agreed Statement of Facts, stipulating to the facts and sanction and waiving further submissions and oral argument.

The Commission accepted the Agreed Statement on March 13, 2025.

The Commission Determination

The Commission filed a determination dated March 28, 2025, in which the 10 participating members concurred, and one (Judge Robert J. Miller) was absent.¹

¹ Akosua Garcia Yeboah's term as a Commission member ended on March 31, 2025. She was succeeded by Robin Chappelle Golston on April 1, 2025.

Court of Appeals Review

The Commission transmitted its determination to the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals, pursuant to Judiciary Law Section 44, subdivision 7. The Commission was notified on April 11, 2025, that Judge Loehr had received the determination. Consequently, the matter is now public.

A judge may either accept the Commission's determination or, within 30 days from receipt, make a written request to the Chief Judge for a review of the determination by the Court of Appeals.

Pursuant to Judiciary Law Section 44, subdivision 7, if Judge Loehr does not request review by the Court of Appeals, the Commission will admonish her in accordance with the determination.

If a Commission determination is reviewed by the Court of Appeals, the Court may accept the determined sanction, impose a different sanction including admonition, censure or removal, or impose no sanction.

Statistics Relating to Prior Determinations

Since 1978, the Commission has issued 289 determinations of admonition against judges in New York State. The Commission has issued 185 determinations of removal and 354 determinations of censure.

The Commission has accepted 149 permanent resignation stipulations, in which the judge has agreed to leave office and never seek or accept judicial office in the future, since the procedure was instituted in 2003.

The Court of Appeals has reviewed 102 Commission determinations. The results are available on the Commission's website at "Appealed Decisions."

Counsel

Judge Loehr was represented by Michael S. Ross, Esq., One Grand Central Place, 60 East 42nd Street, 47th Floor, New York, New York 10165, (212) 505-4060.

The Commission was represented by Deputy Administrator Mark Levine, Principal Attorney Brenda Correa, Staff Attorney Stella Gilliland and Investigator Andy Fenwick.

Background Information on Judge Loehr

First Took Office (County Court): 2020

Current Term Expires: December 31, 2029

Prior Judicial Office: 2017-2019

Peekskill City Court

Year Admitted to the NYS Bar: 2002

Members of the Commission

The Commission members serve four-year terms. A list of members is appended.

The Public File

The determination and other records are available on the Commission's website: www.cjc.ny.gov.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2028
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2028
Stefano Cambareri, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2029
Brian C. Doyle, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt	March 31, 2028
Hon. John A. Falk	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2029
Robin Chappelle Golston	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2029
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore, Ph.D.	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026
Hon. Anil C. Singh	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2026